Substitutes

Last week I missed two days of school to attend training on the new common core state standards.  The training was largely a waste of time, but that is another story.  This week I missed part of yesterday and all of today because I was sick.  The means that I have had a sub for more than three days out of the past 6 days of school.  Unfortunately, our district does not have any subs that know anything about math.  So when I am gone I have to try to come up with stuff that my classes can do without any help at all.  Most of the time I am largely unsuccessful at this.  For today I had a short youtube video that my Algebra 2 classes were supposed to watch about graphing absolute value equations.  Lame, I know, and they probably hated it, but what else can I do when the book doesn’t explain it well and the sub won’t know anything about it?  Is it a sign of a good teacher or a bad teacher when my classes don’t get much accomplished when I am gone?  I need some ideas about what I can do when I have a sub besides just review worksheets.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

mathwecanuse

This blog is dedicated to keep all of my thoughts and ideas organized.

Mr. Orr is a Geek.com

We can do this better

Mr. Pearson's Domain

Math Is Awesome

Crazy Math Teacher Lady

Trying really really hard to be awesome

M^3 (Making Math Meaningful)

~What I see and learn as a teacher~

SlamDunkMath

~What I see and learn as a teacher~

Our Family for His Glory

~What I see and learn as a teacher~

soar180

Soaring through the school year Seeking, Organizing, Analyzing and Reasoning about math in our lives

Megan Hayes-Golding

Still learning.

